Maker Faire! May 21, 22

There was a call for Makers, I applied and got accepted. So this year, instead of being in the stands, I’ll be out on the field having fun. My booth will be called The Sense of Things, as a play on the concept of The Internet of Things.

I will be showing what I’ve learned in the last year regarding wireless sensor networks.

Short Description: Wireless sensor networks, data acquisition and analysis; a discussion about building wireless sensor networks based on open source software and hardware (OSHW) for use in things like home energy, air quality, and elder care.

Long Description: Exploring sensor networks, data acquisition and displaying data.

This project will demonstrate what I have learned in the last year from others on the internet. Open source software has lead to open source hardware (OSHW) and makes it possible to build wireless sensors, open source wireless gateways, data logging data services and charting applications.

With this kind of system we can monitor things like energy used in a home, indoor/outdoor temperatures, wind speed, dangerous gases, the presence of a person in a room, etc.

We will discuss how various online tutorials and technologies (Tweetawatt, xBee, Asus wifi with OpenWRT, data logger, web services, Pachube, Adafruit, MightyOhm, etc) were used to develop the test system.

Web site: TinajaLabs.Wordpress.com

Please come by for a visit.

Saturday, May 21st – SHOWTIME :  10 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Sunday, May 22nd – SHOWTIME:  10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

 

  1. #1 by Fred on 05/22/2011 - 6:47 am

    Hi. I met you yesterday. I have built Ethernet connections via arduino. I’m from michigan

    I’m really interested in getting wireless to work. I couldn’t find a total tutorial
    In how to do this. Do you have one.

    • #2 by Chris Jefferies (Tinaja Labs) on 05/23/2011 - 12:48 am

      Hello Fred,
      I’m sorry the tutorials are incomplete. I have a few pieces available, but I’ll try to get more written up in the next few weeks. Can you explain in some more detail what you have and what you’re looking for. Thanks, Chris.

  1. Maker Faire Surprise « Tinaja Labs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers